CSU Theatre receives awards at 2023 regional college theatre competition

On February 19-24, CSU students competed at the annual Region 7 Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF), which brings together exceptional student actors and technicians from across the western states. It was the first time in several years that the festival was held in-person.

The Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival is a national theatre program, with over 20,000 participants annually, and, according to the organization’s website, “For 50 years, the organization has served as a catalyst in improving the quality of college theater in the United States.”

Theatre students from Region 7 gathered in Spokane, Washington to participate in workshops; attended symposia, colloquies, and professional presentations; worked with resident artists; and competed for honors, awards, and scholarships for their creative accomplishments in theatre productions at staged at their schools. The KCACTF network of 700 academic institutions throughout the country includes Region 7, comprised of nine western states: Alaska, Northern California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Northern Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming.

CSU students have won top awards at KCACTF regionals for the last dozen years, and it is the six year in a row that they have qualified for finals.

Region VII Awards:

Design and Technology Awards: Laurel Ladzinski, Maddie James, and Patrick Middlebrook
Performance Awards: Anh Nguyen

A special thanks to Profs. Price Johnston, Erin Carignan, Saffron Henke, and Steven Workman who accompanied students to the festival in Spokane, Washington.