CSU Theatre Students Win at KCACTF Regional Event

CSU Theatre Students once again win Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival honors at the 2014 regional event. For the eighth consecutive year, students from Colorado State University’s theatre program took home major awards at the regional Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival, held at the Boise State University, Feb. 17-21, 2014.

The Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival is a national theater program, with over 18,000 participants annually, and according to the organization’s website, “[KCACTF] has served as a catalyst in improving the quality of college theatre in the United States.”

Region VII is comprised of nine western states including Alaska, northern Calif., Colo., Idaho, Mont., northern Nev., Ore., Wash. and Wyo. Over 1,000 theatre students from Region VII convene annually to participate in workshops; attend symposia and colloquies and professional presentation; work with resident artists; and compete for honors, awards, and scholarships for their creative accomplishments in theatre productions at staged at their schools.

Students winning regional awards will travel to Washington, D.C., April 14-29, 2014, to compete at the 48th annual Kennedy Center national conference, where, since 2007, CSU students have distinguished themselves as national award-winners in Stage Management, Acting, Lighting Design, Sound Design, and Playwriting. National winners are selected by discipline-discrete judges from a panel of highly visible theatre professionals.


Comic Potential by Alan Ayckbourn, directed by Eric Prince

National Finalists and Region 7 Winners (Going to Washington DC in April)
Andrew Killion: Lighting Design for Evil Dead: The Musical
Emma Kimball: Sound Design for Comic Potential

Region 7 Winner – Lighting/Projection Design and Stagecraft Institute of Las Vegas Scholarship Recipient (Going to Las Vegas in June)
John Erickson: Projection Design – Little Women

California State University – Summer Arts Program Scholarship
Ben Hilzer (Music Theatre)